• Rhode Island State Accountability System


    Under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), the federal education law that replaced the No Child Left Behind Act, States have to demonstrate that they’ve adopted challenging academic standards for all public school students in math, reading/language arts, and science. These standards must be aligned with both the entrance requirements for credit-bearing coursework in the state’s public higher education system and career and technical education standards. It also provides states with a great deal of flexibility in a number of key areas, including accountability, support for school improvement, student and educator support, and the use of federal education funds.


    Beginning in school year 2017-2018, the state accountability system now uses a variety of indicators to create School Star Ratings. The Rhode Island Department of Education uses these measures to summarize school performance using a rating of 1 to 5 stars. School performance on the various indicators and overall Star Ratings can be viewed on the RI State Report Card.


    Under the new Rhode Island ESSA State Plan, the State Accountability System encompasses the following state assessments:

    • RICAS for Elementary and Middle Schools (grades 3-8)
    • Dynamic Learning Maps (grades 3-8 and 11)
    • PSAT10 for High Schools (grade 10)
    • SAT for High Schools (grade 11)
    • Rhode Island Next Generation Science Assessment (grades 5, 8, and 11)
    • ACCESS for ELLs 2.0 and Alternate ACCESS for ELLs (K-12) 


    School Accountability Classifications


    Return to RPA Homepage Return to RPA Homepage